The 6 major axes of the evolution of PeopleSoft

May 14 BSSI

At the start of 2020, it seems worth remembering that PeopleSoft solutions continue to evolve and integrate new technologies, proving once again that the path of perpetuating, maintaining and enriching the investment made in the PeopleSoft base remains a good strategy.

As such, in the wake of the last Oracle Open World, I would like to relay the recent speech by Paco AUBREJUAN, Oracle Senior Vice President, Applications Development, which exposes 6 major axes of PeopleSoft evolution, without counting the effort to modernize the ergonomics that has already been achieved with the development and deployment of the Fluid UI.

a) Chatbots

A first example of a Chatbot solution has already been developed by Oracle in the HCM suite (image 31) on the scope of absence management. Others will come regarding HCM but also various FSCM functionalities.

To do this, Oracle relies on its investment in chabots and machine learning which is materialized by the Oracle Digital Assistant (ODA) solution and on interfacing with PeopleSoft through the Chatbot Integration Framework.

b) Standardization

A major effort to standardize PeopleSoft applications has already been made and is continuing through the development of transverse Frameworks that replace solutions specific to each module: management of the approval workflow, management of delegations, management of notifications.

In addition to the range of features and options offered by these frameworks, there is a real source of simplification for the implementation and maintenance of PeopleSoft solutions.

c) Data analysis

Facilitating the analysis of data managed by PeopleSoft applications is one of the priorities of the Oracle Development team. Previously, there has already been the provision of Pivots Grids which allow the selection and formatting of data from queries and which are reusable within Dashboards and Workcenters. There is now the opening towards the Kabana visualization tool through the implementation of the Elasticsearch search engine.

d) Mastery of the specifics

Aware of the drifts caused by the possibilities of customization of the standard application via the provision of PeopleTools, Oracle strives to provide its customers with means to master specific developments while continuing to meet user expectations. These include the “Page & Field” options which will allow the screens to be configured as standard and the “Event Mapping” functionality which will make it possible to isolate specific developments upstream or downstream of a standard component.

e) Oracle Cloud Infrastructure - OCI

How to take advantage of the benefits of hosting in the Cloud while fully retaining its PeopleSoft functional solution? Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) is the hosting solution offered by Oracle and PeopleSoft Cloud Manager is the tool that will allow you to manage this hosting in PeopleSoft environments.

In addition to the gains brought by an outsourcing of the hosting of all or part of the environments, this can be a first step and a first experience towards the "clouding" of existing application solutions.

f) Openness to emerging technologies

How can my PeopleSoft solutions take advantage of the contributions of Oracle Research and Development around emerging technologies? The new solutions being systematically developed and offered in Cloud mode, access via PeopleSoft will be done simply via the subscription of Cloud Services, Oracle developing the integration tool with PeopleSoft as new offers are released (principle identical to that already applied for the Chatbot solution).

Eric, PeopleSoft Expert

Perfectuser

    In order to improve your experience, we use cookies to store connection information and provide a secure connection, to collect statistics in order to optimize the functionality of the site and to adapt the content to your areas of interest. Click OK to continue and accept cookies in order to continue directly on the site or access the contact form More information

    The cookie settings on this site are set to "accept cookies" to provide you with the best possible browsing experience. If you continue to use this site without changing your cookie settings or if you click "Accept" below, you consent to this.

    Close

Les 6 axes majeurs de l’évolution de PeopleSoft

Mai 14, 2020 BSSI

En ce début d’année 2020, il semble bon de rappeler que les solutions PeopleSoft con-tinuent d’évoluer et d’intégrer des nouvelles technologies, prouvant une fois encore que la voie consistant à pérenniser, maintenir et enrichir l’investissement réalisé sur le socle PeopleSoft demeure une bonne stratégie.

A ce titre, dans la foulée du dernier Oracle Open World, je souhaite relayer le récent discours de Paco AUBREJUAN, Oracle Senior Vice Président, Applications Development, qui expose 6 axes majeurs d’évolution PeopleSoft, sans compter l’effort de modernisation de l’ergonomie qui a déjà été réalisée avec le développement et le déploiement de la Fluid UI.

a) Les Chatbots

Un premier exemple de solution Chatbot a déjà été développé par Oracle dans la suite HCM (image 31) sur le périmètre de la gestion des absences. D’autres viendront con-cernant HCM mais également diverses fonctionnalités FSCM.

Pour ce faire, Oracle s’appuie sur son investissement sur les chabots et le machine learning qui est matérialisé par la solution Oracle Digital Assistant (ODA) et sur un inter-façage avec PeopleSoft à travers le Chatbot Integration Framework.

b) La standardisation

Un important effort de standardisation des applications PeopleSoft a déjà été réalisé et se poursuit à travers le développement de Frameworks transverses venant remplacer des solutions propres à chaque module : gestion du workflow d’approbation, gestion des délégations, gestion des notifications.

Outre l’étendue des fonctionnalités et des options offertes par ces frameworks, il y a là une vraie source de simplification pour la mise en œuvre et la maintenance des solu-tions PeopleSoft.

c) L’analyse des données

Faciliter l’analyse des données gérées par les applications PeopleSoft fait partie des priorités de l’équipe de Développement Oracle. Précédemment, il y a déjà eu la mise à disposition de Pivots Grids qui permettent la sélection et la mise en forme de données issues de requêtes et qui sont réutilisables au sein de Dashboards et de Workcenters. Il y a maintenant l’ouverture vers l’outil de visualisation Kabana à travers la mise en œuvre du moteur de recherche Elasticsearch.

d) La maîtrise des spécifiques

Conscient des dérives qu’ont occasionnées les possibilités de personnalisation de l’applicatif standard via la mise à disposition des PeopleTools, Oracle s’efforce de fournir à ses clients des moyens pour maîtriser les développements spécifiques tout en continuant de répondre aux attentes des utilisateurs. Il s’agit notamment des options « Page & Field » qui vont permettre de configurer en standard les écrans et de la fonctionnalité « Event Mapping » qui va permettre d’isoler des développements spécifiques en amont ou en aval d’un composant standard.

e) Oracle Cloud Infrastructure – OCI

Comment profiter des bénéfices d’un hébergement dans le Cloud tout en conservant intégralement sa solution fonctionnelle PeopleSoft ? Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) est la solution d’hébergement proposée par Oracle et PeopleSoft Cloud Manager est l’outillage qui va permettre de gérer cet hébergement des environnements PeopleSoft.

Outre les gains apportés par une externalisation de l’hébergement de tout ou partie des environnements, il peut s’agir là d’une première étape et d’une première expérience vers la « cloudisation » des solutions applicatives existantes.

f) Ouverture vers les technologies émergentes

Comment mes solutions PeopleSoft pourront-elles tirer profit des apports de la Recherche-Développement Oracle autour des technologies émergentes ? Les nouvelles solutions étant systématiquement développées et proposées en mode Cloud, l’accès via PeopleSoft se fera simplement via la souscription de Cloud Services, Oracle développant l’outillage d’intégration avec PeopleSoft au fur et à mesure de la sortie de nouvelles offres (principe identique à celui déjà appliqué pour la solution Chatbot).

Eric, Expert PeopleSoft

Afin d'améliorer votre expérience, nous utilisons des cookies pour conserver les informations de connexion et fournir une connexion sure, collecter des statistiques en vue d'optimiser les fonctionnalités du site et adapter le contenu à vos centres d'intérêt. Cliquez sur OK pour continuer et accepter les cookies afin de poursuivre directement sur le site ou bien accéder au formulaire de contact Plus d'informations

Les paramètres des cookies sur ce site sont définis sur « accepter les cookies » pour vous offrir la meilleure expérience de navigation possible. Si vous continuez à utiliser ce site sans changer vos paramètres de cookies ou si vous cliquez sur "Accepter" ci-dessous, vous consentez à cela.

Fermer