Strategy for the implementation of a “Fluid User Interface”

May 25 BSSI, PeopleSoft

1. Problem and context

For users experienced in a web 2.0 interface, the classic ergonomics of ERP may seem outdated and unsuitable today. It is this observation, to which was added the need to develop an interface suitable for use via mobiles, which led Oracle to introduce into its PeopleSoft solutions a user interface complementary to the so-called classic interface: this is the Fluid User Interface.

Launched in 2014, with the PeopleTools 8.54, the Fluid UI was gradually extended, with the arrival of each new 9.2 image, and now covers as standard a large part of the functionality of the application.

2. The “Fluid User Interface”

The Fluid User interface is above all a new way of using the system. At the same time robust and intuitive, easier and simpler to use, it includes a new navigation mode and real-time analyzes (embedded BI). Focused on simplifying the entry and retrieval of information, it is particularly suited to user self-service functionalities. It is the interface automatically proposed when you connect to the application with a tablet or a smartphone, but it is also the interface to favor for beginners and all occasional users; the screens of the classic interface remain dedicated to expert users, likely to use all of the solution's features and options.

3. Conditions for a successful implementation

In order to effectively implement the Fluid UI, the first point is to conduct a business analysis to determine the business processes for which the expected benefits are greatest in terms of user comfort and productivity. As an example, we often cite the management of expense reports, the recording of time spent, approvals and project management. Once the business priorities have been set, it is then a question of recovering the most up-to-date corresponding standard functionalities (via CFO tools and Selective Adoption), then, if necessary, making the necessary customizations of these components. It is also possible to convert existing specific developments to the Fluid UI, by introducing a simplification logic and the addition of real-time analyzes. In all cases, PeopleSoft developers should be trained in Fluid UI development techniques. It should be noted that companies using a version prior to 9.2 can also benefit from the advantages of Fluid UI, provided they are at least at PeopleTools 8.54 level. In a context of deployment of the application via mobile access, it is advisable to subscribe to the company's strategy relating to this subject and possibly to complete it. A final point of attention, in addition to the classic phases of testing, training and user support, concerns the verification of minimum versions of internet browser.

Eric, PeopleSoft Expert

Perfectuser

    In order to improve your experience, we use cookies to store connection information and provide a secure connection, to collect statistics in order to optimize the functionality of the site and to adapt the content to your areas of interest. Click OK to continue and accept cookies in order to continue directly on the site or access the contact form More information

    The cookie settings on this site are set to "accept cookies" to provide you with the best possible browsing experience. If you continue to use this site without changing your cookie settings or if you click "Accept" below, you consent to this.

    Close

Stratégie pour la mise en oeuvre d’une “Fluid User Interface”

Mai 25, 2020 BSSI, PeopleSoft

1. Problématique et contexte

Pour des utilisateurs rompus à une interface web 2.0, l’ergonomie classique des ERP peut paraître aujourd’hui démodée et inadaptée. C’est ce constat, auquel s’est ajouté la nécessité de développer une interface adaptée à une utilisation via des mobiles, qui a amené Oracle à introduire dans ses solutions PeopleSoft une interface utilisateur complémentaire de l’interface dite classique : c’est la Fluid User Interface.

Lancée dès 2014, avec les PeopleTools 8.54, la Fluid UI a progressivement été étendue, à l’arrivée de chaque nouvelle image 9.2, et couvre maintenant en standard une large partie des fonctionnalités de l’applicatif.

2. La « Fluid User Interface »

La Fluid User interface se veut avant tout une nouvelle façon d’utiliser le système. Tout à la fois robuste et intuitive, plus facile et plus simple à utiliser, elle inclut un nouveau mode de navigation et des analyses en temps réel (BI embarqué). Axée sur la simplification de la saisie et de la restitution de l’information, elle est particulièrement adaptée aux fonctionnalités de libre-service utilisateur. C’est l’interface automatiquement proposée quand on se connecte à l’application avec une tablette ou un smartphone, mais c’est également l’interface à privilégier pour les utilisateurs débutants et tous les utilisateurs occasionnels; les écrans de l’interface classique restent dédiés aux utilisateurs experts, susceptibles d’utiliser l’intégralité des fonctionnalités et des options de la solution.

3. Les conditions pour une mise en œuvre réussie

Afin de mettre en œuvre efficacement la Fluid UI, le premier point est de mener une analyse métier afin de déterminer les processus métier pour lesquels les bénéfices attendus sont les plus forts en termes de confort utilisateur et de productivité. A titre d’exemple, on cite souvent la gestion des notes de frais, la saisie des temps passés, les approbations et la gestion de projet. Une fois les priorités métier fixées, il s’agit ensuite de récupérer les fonctionnalités standard correspondantes les plus à jour (via l’outillage CFO et la Selective Adoption), puis, si besoin, d’opérer les personnalisations nécessaires de ces composants. Il est également possible de convertir des développements spécifiques existants à la Fluid UI, en introduisant une logique de simplification et d’ajout d’analyses temps réel. Dans tous les cas, il conviendra de former les développeurs PeopleSoft aux techniques de développement Fluid UI. Il est à noter que les sociétés utilisatrices en version antérieure à la 9.2 peuvent également bénéficier des avantages de la Fluid UI, à condition d’être au moins au niveau de PeopleTools 8.54. Dans un contexte de déploiement de l’application via un accès sur mobile, il convient de s’inscrire dans la stratégie de l’entreprise relative à ce sujet et éventuellement de la compléter. Un dernier point d’attention, outre les phases classiques de tests, formation et support aux utilisateurs, porte sur la vérification des versions minimum de navigateur internet.

Eric, Expert PeopleSoft

Afin d'améliorer votre expérience, nous utilisons des cookies pour conserver les informations de connexion et fournir une connexion sure, collecter des statistiques en vue d'optimiser les fonctionnalités du site et adapter le contenu à vos centres d'intérêt. Cliquez sur OK pour continuer et accepter les cookies afin de poursuivre directement sur le site ou bien accéder au formulaire de contact Plus d'informations

Les paramètres des cookies sur ce site sont définis sur « accepter les cookies » pour vous offrir la meilleure expérience de navigation possible. Si vous continuez à utiliser ce site sans changer vos paramètres de cookies ou si vous cliquez sur "Accepter" ci-dessous, vous consentez à cela.

Fermer